first day of school

Morning dawned clear and dry. The thermostat registered 65 at 6:00AM. Another day of the drought, a hot, smelly day. Thus begain my first day of teaching, my least favorite day of the year.

Sure, I catch the back-to-school fever, and I eagerly anticipate the wonderful memories that lie ahead, but I dread the first day. My personality being what it is, I haven’t mastered the way to harness my students’ first day enthusiasm. I really wish I could hire a clown that first day, something that would be more entertaining than me droning on about the syllabus and procedures they’ll forget by Friday, anything that would be better than the predictable writing sample. All this repeated six or seven times. I check it off my list and look forward to day two.

This year will begin the same way only the drought is worse and the antelope herd I fondly drive by each day has more babies this year. Even though it’s September and I’ve enjoyed an eight-week maternity leave like an ersatz summer break, the rest of school is still in full-swing. I’m not tricked this time into thinking of my first day back as the first day of school.

We will have our first all-school training session. Guess what it is? Pressure Point and Control Tactics! It might make us better officers, but it won’t make us better teachers. Odd.

About hey miss

A teacher. A prison guard. I used to think that was like oil and water. Like lightening and metal. Some days it is. Some days it's magic.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

