What Do Children Deserve?

If you could see them in their uniforms, clean-shaven, free of facial rings, with short hair you wouldn’t see them as thugs. A lot of them clean up nicely. It’s easy to be deceived. Then there are those you know right away something is amiss. Yet another group looks plain vicious.

Mr. P. was among the last group with slits for eyes and a sharp nose. He looked too thin to be as tough as he was. I never liked being within sight of him. How he ever came to talk to my co-worker is beyond me because he seemed incapable of feelings. I was wrong.

He came to her office, obviously agitated, and admitted that his mom put in a request to visit him. He didn’t know what to do. My co-worker couldn’t see the problem at first. Then he explained that he didn’t know his mother. She left him when he was only three-years-old. I’m not sure what I would’ve said in her place, but my colleague didn’t hesitate, “You deserve to know why she left you.”

This certainty has bothered me for quite some time because I know some of the fathers I work with have abandoned their children. Do they owe an explanation to their children?

About hey miss

A teacher. A prison guard. I used to think that was like oil and water. Like lightening and metal. Some days it is. Some days it's magic.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

