Life and Death

Sometimes they say it best. (There are some glaring errors, true, but it’s a sight better than the first draft she turned in.)

Life and Death

Most teenagers and young adults make decisions like should I date, play the field, go to college, what phone makes me look coolest, or what car looks the best for when I get famous. But no teenager or young adult should have to make a choice between two families, the family that you are born with versus the family you are jumped in. Say that a young male or female had to choose between these two families, yet their pride, family and life would suffer no matter what. This is how I would choose.

Say the scenario is I commit murder with my gang and get put in prison for it. I sign a plead deal saying I’m willing to shorten my sentence if I testify against my hood. When the time comes, however, I have to put my family in danger because the hood I’m from doesn’t mess around, obviously. They will hunt down my family and seriously hurt or kill them. To most the choice is easy, you would choose your real family, but for some, both families are equally important and special. If I choose not to testify against my hood I could spend the rest of my life in prison but with the knowledge that my family is safe. On the other hand, if I do testify I could spend a few years in prison constantly worrying about my family. 

This is not a hypothetical situation. I know a young woman who has to make this decision. Decisions like this are more common than we like to think. Maybe if street gangs were being watched and monitored, fewer young adults would be in situations like this. 

About hey miss

A teacher. A prison guard. I used to think that was like oil and water. Like lightening and metal. Some days it is. Some days it's magic.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

