Daily Prompt: Breaking the Law

Daily Prompt: Breaking the Law

Think about the last time you broke a rule (a big one, not just ripping the tags off your pillows). Were you burned, or did things turn out for the best?

I’m a day late and a dollar short responding to the Daily Prompt, but I couldn’t pass this one up now could I? 

If I thought becoming a teacher required jumping through a series of hoops, enduring the process of going to work for a prison put those hoops in perspective.  There was one hoop in particular where I had to take time off work and sit uncomfortably with a bored, old woman who wanted to know all, and I mean all, the bad things I had done in my life. If I failed to impress I might have found myself attached to a lie detector machine. This kind of treatment sends this goody two-shoes into a tremor of second guesses. I raked my memories for anything.

The tired woman cocked her eyebrows at me, “You haven’t taken any drugs?” No, not even a cigarette. I broke into a cold sweat wishing, for the first time in my life, I had done something incriminating just to appear credible. What kind of an upside down world did I find myself in?

By the time we got to my driving record I was such a wreck that I clean forgot about my accident six years prior. How does someone forget that? I mean, I had customers in the car, and the car towed to clients, and everything. It’s hard to forget an embarrassing moment like that.

Afterwards Betty coolly told me, “If you remember anything in the next few days, please let me know.” I wish she hadn’t said that.

A few months later over lunch one of my co-workers said, “If I could pass the background check, then I wonder how anyone can fail it. I told the lady at one point that she should just assume I’d done just about everything short of kill someone. I think that saved us some time.” Compare that to what  I did. Recently I found a copy of the most mortifying letter ever written in which I try to convince Betty that I’m a horrible person. No kidding. Then I told her how I stole a jellybean from Safeway when I was eight-years-old, but one of the clerks saw me. Horrified, I put it back. That’s not all. I forged my mom’s signature once in the third grade and the TA had a chat with me. Never again. Like most people, I have sped to work and forgotten to turn my cell phone off. Yeah, I felt like I had to say that. I like to believe I’ve grown from this experience.

About hey miss

A teacher. A prison guard. I used to think that was like oil and water. Like lightening and metal. Some days it is. Some days it's magic.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

