Irons in the Fire

My Wednesday:

1. Help girls write and practice the tassel ceremony speech.

2. Collect and edit article submissions; assemble electronic files of articles to create newsletter; hunt down all persons involved in said articles.

3. Collaborate with staff to create a welding certificate re-certification schedule for 21 offenders.

4. Mentor offender who comes by when he can to type his business plan on my computers.

5. Listen to an offender who came by to type his Phase II (return to the community) plan but is too nervous about leaving to type; make him write anyway; then edit his responses.

6. Edit another Phase II plan for an offender I do not know.

7. Begin preparing for another resume writing workshop next month.

I taught and wrote lesson plans somewhere in all of that too. When I came home I put away laundry, cooked dinner, put two kids to bed, and began packing the kitchen. Then my husband asked how my day had gone. “Well,” I said, giving myself time to think of a summary statement, “I have too many irons in the fire because your wife isn’t happy unless she has a project–or five.” He knows.

“You know,” he replied, “I once saw a man put an entire Big Mac in his mouth at one time.”

Point taken.

About hey miss

A teacher. A prison guard. I used to think that was like oil and water. Like lightening and metal. Some days it is. Some days it's magic.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

