Chili Peppers

One of the unfortunate side-effects of my job is my new intolerance for preparing hot peppers.

A couple years ago I joined in the pepper frenzy of our state and bought a bushel of green chili peppers. For three hours that night I cleaned, seeded, and froze my peppers out of which I made rellenos and green chili sauce the rest of the year.

Then I went through Basic Training at the DOC Academy where I became certified to carry OC. That meant I had to enter an OC filled room and disperse my spray at the target. You’ll understand why I volunteered to be one of the first. Those who went last had to endure a higher concentration of the stuff. I passed. Then I became really sick. Besides a few embarrassing minutes, I didn’t think much of it.

It was chili season again. Again I faithfully drove out to one of the farms and picked up my bushel of fire roasted chilis. Not even a quarter of the way through, I had to put my bag in the refrigerator. Snot was pouring down my nose and I was tearing up like a baby. It took me four days to freeze my bushel. With my peppers safely in the freezer, I found myself reluctant to touch them for anything.

At Thanksgiving, my mother-in-law assigned my brother-in-law to smoke a turkey. He’s never made any meat I didn’t devour, so I looked forward to the spicy, nontraditional recipe he brought with him. Then he made the brine which calls for a 1/4 C of dried pepper flakes in warm water. It didn’t take long before I was coughing like crazy, but it wasn’t until the entire house was doused with the effects of pepper in the air that he took the brine out in the garage.

I love chili peppers, and I am very sad as I look at my bags and bags of frozen peppers  that I am reluctant to touch them now all due to a certification that took me less than a minute to complete.

About hey miss

A teacher. A prison guard. I used to think that was like oil and water. Like lightening and metal. Some days it is. Some days it's magic.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

